Tips on Finding Cheap Airfare

People often ask me how I am always on the go. How can I afford to travel around the world on a student’s budget? There are several factors that contribute to an affordable trip (more posts to come about hostel tips, backpacking, etc.), but one of the biggest expense is the dreadful airfare. Here are some tips every traveler should know =) enjoy!

1) Cheapest days to fly:Wednesday, Tuesday and Saturday

2) Cheapest time to fly: First flight out in the morning

3)Best time to buy airline tickets: Tuesday, 3 PM eastern

4) Avoid buying airline tickets at this time: the weekend (it is, after all, the most expensive time to shop) πŸ˜‰

FACT: AIRLINES MAKE MONEY FROM ANTICIPATING OUR BUYING HABITS

Economist Makoto Watanabe says that 8 weeks out is the best time to buy an airline ticket.

Airlines Reporting Corp says 6 weeks out is the best time to buy

Tip: Shop early but don’t always buy early! Airlines start offering cheaper seats about 4 months before departure (5 months for international). – An example (My flight to Fort Lauderdale) for New Years)- I bought my departure flight about two months before I left and my return flight around 2 days before I left lol I paid $320 round trip!

– Sunday is usually the most expensive day to fly

-Prices may change up to 3 times a day

Image

Here’s an awesome link about a chick who flew around the world in business class for $1,340.00! –>Β http://mashable.com/2013/10/15/around-the-world-business-class/

Traveling is never a matter of money, but of courage. I spent my youth traveling as a hippie. And what money did I have? none.But i still consider those to be the best years of my life…” Paulo Coelho- (one of my favorite authors!)

Leave a Reply

