Eating My Way Through NYC

I just got back from a trip to NYC to visit family last week, and of course, one of the absolute best things about this city is all the amazing food! I thought I’d share some of my favorite restaurants/eateries from my trip and recommendations I have for any foodie traveling to the city.

Note- Totally rookie move, but I forgot my camera when I went on this trip, so I  apologize for the quality of the pictures below. All were taken on my Iphone.

Chelsea Market- A foodie’s dream! (Chelsea, Manhattan) 

I loved this market! Think chic/hip flea-market filled with every and any type of food stand/ vendor possible. It had Mexican, Thai, Japanese, Italian and French food (plus like 20 more varieties)! In addition, they also sell various artisanal products, groceries (fresh meat, cheeses and veggies), plants and flowers and other home-goods stuff. Below are some pictures.

IMG_1955.JPG
All decked out for the holidays
IMG_1949
Outside the market
IMG_1957
All decked out for the holidays
IMG_1967
I opted for the Carne Asada Tacos- the only ones I found in NYC!
IMG_1976
Gelato stand
IMG_1964.JPG
An Indian Spice and Tea shop in the market
IMG_1972
Amazing mini donuts! -They rival “Trish’s Donuts” in SF
FullSizeRender copy
Cute Coffee shop inside the market
FullSizeRender (2)
Gorgeous mosaic lanterns
IMG_1977.JPG
Different fresh pasta for sale

FullSizeRender copy 2

IMG_1951.JPG
Flower shop

FullSizeRender (1)

FullSizeRender
In this part of the market, local artisans sold their paintings and handmade jewelry, bags, clothing, etc.

2. Joe’s Shanghai (Several locations throughout Manhattan) 

The BEST soup dumplings I’ve ever had. Period. Try this place. Really any of the dumplings are delicious, but you can’t leave without having the soup dumplings.

IMG_1998.JPG
Delicious Won Ton Soup
FullSizeRender.jpg
Joe’s famous soup dumplings

3. Balthazar’s Restaurant (SoHo, Manhattan)

This restaurant is located in SoHo and is pretty famous in NYC. Apparently lots of celebs are known to stop by and grab brunch any given day. It is literally super packed at all hours of the day so make a reservation if you can! The food is definitely worth the wait!

FullSizeRender (1)

IMG_2001
Super flavorful onion soup
IMG_1899
Our main entree- Eggs with asparagus and a puff pastry.. Delicious!
IMG_1906
A carmelized banana tart for dessert

4. Shake Shack (Several locations throughout Manhattan)

Everyone always talks about and posts pictures on IG of their meals from Shake Shack when they visit the east coast, so I had to try it. The shake and fries were really good, and the burger was alright (I personally like In-N-Out better, but I could also be biased?) Regardless, it’s worth trying at least once if you come across one.

IMG_1771

FullSizeRender

5.Levain Bakery (Upper West Side, Manhattan)

This bakery is pretty much what dreams are made of. Actually, their cookies are. As you glance at the pic of their famous chocolate chip walnut cookie below, I don’t think I need to explain why there are lines around the block for these bad boys.

IMG_2018
Famous chocolate chip walnut cookie
FullSizeRender (2)
From Outside

Tip- Go during the week around 2-3 PM if you can, on weekends the lines are ridiculous and wait times can reach 45 minutes to an hour.

6. PHO 32 N Shabu Restaurant (Korea Town, Manhattan)

This was my first time having Shabu, but it was absolutely delicious! The meat was tender and flavorful (the best I’ve ever had at a cook-it-yourself restaurant). The veggies were fresh as well. Overall, it was an awesome experience and the Shabu soup was exceptional.

FullSizeRender (2) copy

FullSizeRender (2) copy 2
Beef Shabu

7. Caracas Arepa Bar (williamsburg, Brooklyn)

In Cali, its so hard to find a good/ authentic Venezuelan restaurant. If I want arepas (the Venezuelan version of gorditas- pictured below),  I have to ask my mom to make them (I know I know, I have to learnnnnn- I will soon enough 😉 ) So it was so refreshing to yelp arepas and have a bunch of different spots pop up that served them.

I didn’t get to have any bomb Puerto-Rican or Dominican food while in NYC, but Zoralie Restaurant (located at 449 W 51st Street) is a good choice if you happen to be in Manhattan.

IMG_2070
Croquetas de Yuca
IMG_2074
Arepa with shredded beef, platanos, black beans and sour cream and cheese

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

7. Coffee Shopssss

New York City has sooooo many cute/quaint and fun coffee shops that serve a delicious cup of brew and lots of soothing teas (that helped with the cold!) While in NYC, I went to Zibetto espresso Bar in Midtown, Sweatshop in Brooklyn, Pennylane in Midtown and Birch Coffee (they have several locations throughout the city).

IMG_1839.JPG
My cousin’s mocha and croissant at Zibetto
IMG_1838
My neighbor’s ( in the cafe) drink. She was cool and let me take a pic of her awesome smiley latte. (Zibetto)
FullSizeRender (2) copy 2
Sweet little Aussie cafe in Brooklyn
FullSizeRender (2) copy
Enjoying my chai with cinnamon sprinkled on top over this “death before decaf” mini table- ironic, I’ve actually switched (kicking and screaming) to decaf for health reasons (why I opted for tea here hah)
FullSizeRender (2).jpg
A pretty cool mural next to the cafe

FullSizeRender (2) copy 3

FullSizeRender (2) copy 4
PennyLane Cafe
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Birch Coffee (pic is actually from my last trip to New York)

 

More pics of my trip: NYC is such a beautiful and exciting city. There is soooo much to do here and the architecture is breathtaking. I repeatedly felt like I was back in Europe. Below are some more snapshots from my trip.

FullSizeRender (1) copy 2
Wandering around Chelsea
IMG_1892.JPG
Window shopping in SoHo
FullSizeRender (2)
No filter! Breath-taking sunset I was able to capture from a cab in Midtown
FullSizeRender (2) copy
Walking through the Upper West Side

 

FullSizeRender (2) copy 2
My cousin and I went to church Sunday morning at Hillsong NYC, located right in the heart of times square. Amazing experience!
FullSizeRender (2) copy 2
Fall in Central Park
FullSizeRender (2) copy.jpg
I love all the corner flower shops in this city!

 

Leave a Reply

